Zoo Administration

Los Angeles Zoo LogoMission Statement

To serve the community, the Los Angeles Zoo will create an environment for recreation and discovery; inspire an appreciation of wildlife through exhibitry and education; ensure the highest level of animal welfare; and support programs that preserve biodiversity and conserve natural habitat.

Zoo Director

John R. Lewis

  • Denise Tamura, Executive Assistant

Zoo Administration

Denise M. Verret, Deputy Director

Mae Huey, Human Resources Division
Vacant, General Curator
Curtis Eng, D.V.M., Chief Veterinarian
Mei Kwan, Director of Administration and Operations
Tom LoVullo, Construction and Maintenance Supervisor
Kirsten Perez, Director of Education
Darryl Pon, Planning and Development Division

Zoo Commission

President: Karen B. Winnick
Vice President: Bernardo Silva

Sue Downing, D.V.M.
Marc Mitchell
Yasmine Johnson
Richard Lichtenstein, Ex-Officio Member

Please click here for Zoo Commision meeting information

Former Zoo Directors

Edward Maruska


Manuel A. Mollinedo


Dr. Mark A. Goldstein


Dr. Warren D. Thomas


Chester E. Hogan


Dr. Nathan B. Gale


Dr. Wesley A. Young


Association of Zoos & Aquariums LogoAssociation of Zoos and Aquariums Accreditation

The Los Angeles Zoo is accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). Look for the AZA logo whenever you visit a zoo or aquarium as your assurance that you are supporting a facility dedicated to providing excellent care for animals, a great experience for you, and a better future for all living things. With its more than 200 accredited members, AZA is a leader in global wildlife conservation, and your link to helping animals in their native habitats. For more information, visit the AZA website at www.aza.org.

Rocket Fuel