Open daily from 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. / More Info ›

Reindeer Romp 2017

Event Snapshot

November 17 – January 7

10 a.m. – 4 p.m.

All activities except Santa photos are free for members and with paid admission.  Programming subject to change. The Zoo is closed on December 25.

The reindeer are landing!

Real reindeer are back in town and making the L.A. Zoo their home for the holidays! Visit them in Reindeer Village daily, where you’ll also find enchanting photo ops and fascinating facts about Santa’s favorite furry friends.

Weekends offer a flurry of additional fun, with special entertainment and activities including:

  • Craft station with make-your-own antlers
  • Reindeer keeper talks
  • Holiday presents for the animals
  • Photos with Santa (for an additional fee)

Daily Reindeer Games, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

  • Real reindeer on display
  • Reindeer keeper talks at 11 a.m. & 2 p.m.
  • Fun reindeer facts
  • Holiday photo ops

Weekend Romps

  • Professional photos with Santa for a nominal fee. Prices vary by package. Available 11 a.m. – 3 p.m. on weekend days November 18 through December 17
  • Antler crafts in Reindeer Village 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
  • “Gifts” for the animals (see below for animals, dates and times)
Reindeer Romp Gift and Baby 2015 (Photo by Jamie Pham)

Holiday Gifts for the Animals

Lion with a Present

Our animals are getting into the seasonal fun with “presents” of their own, which are part of our enrichment program. Enrichment activities are offered throughout the year and promote the physical and mental wellbeing of our animal residents by encouraging natural behaviors. During Reindeer Romp, see your favorite animals enjoy special enrichment treats on weekend days.

Enrichment Activities

All enrichment activities happen at 11 a.m., unless otherwise noted

Saturday, November 25: Meerkat
Sunday, November 26: Snow leopard
Saturday, December 2: Orangutan
Sunday, December 3: Red river hog
Saturday, December 9: Tiger
Sunday, December 10: Lion
Saturday, December 16: Elephant
Sunday, December 17: Muriel’s Ranch
Saturday, December 23: Lion
Sunday, December 24: Otter
Saturday, December 30: Black bear
Sunday, December 31: Cassowary
Saturday, January 6: Siamang
Sunday, January 7: Muriel’s Ranch

Back to Top